Charles Stanley: God Will Save Unbelievers

“[T]he unfaithful believer will not lose his salvation … Even if a believer for all practical purposes becomes an unbeliever, his salvation is not in jeopardy.  Christ will remain faithful … Christ will not deny an unbelieving Christian his or her salvation … believers who lose or abandon their faith will retain their salvation, for God remains faithful.”

– Charles Stanley (1990: Thomas Nelson), Eternal Security: Can You Be Sure?, pp. 92-4

6 thoughts on “Charles Stanley: God Will Save Unbelievers

  1. Dawn October 6, 2012 / 2:27 am

    I am unfamiliar with facebook, tweeting, but I am dealing with a severe depression. I have had many problems with my family over the years. lies have been told and terrible things have been said and done and no one ever forgives anyone. My family just pretends that none of the things have happened and expect nothing to be said. It has been going on for generations. I am at the end of myself with this. I pray to forget and forgive, but there is so much hurt and anger. And because of the length of time that this has gone on, I feel that God is never going to take this away or that I cannot be forgiven because I am having a hard time forgiving or really more so forgetting. My heart is hurt. I worry about this constantly and can find no peace. Can someone help me? Is my salvation at risk?

  2. ArminianTheology October 7, 2012 / 7:18 am

    If there is un-confessed sin in your life that you are aware of, go straight to 1 John 1:9. The amount of time that has elapsed since the sin occurred is irrelevant; what you need to do is confess the sin and turn from it. “Whoever conceals his transgressions will not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them will obtain mercy” (Prov. 28:13).

    You may find this article on apostasy helpful:

    https://arminiantheologyblog.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/individual-apostasy/

    It describes what apostasy is, and when it is committed.

  3. ArminianTheology October 7, 2012 / 12:33 am

    Well, first things first: are you a believer or an unbeliever? And secondly, if you are a believer, what is it that you’re believing in for salvation?

  4. Dawn October 7, 2012 / 6:14 am

    I am a believer.

  5. annshelley January 17, 2015 / 3:25 am

    This title is very misleading. It seems to put Stanley in the boat of Universalism. Even Calvinists believe that someone who is truly saved can never be “unsaved” and that is basically what Stanley states in his quote. However, the title is way off here.

  6. Arminian January 17, 2015 / 8:50 am

    The title isn’t misleading at all.

Leave a Reply

